Committees & Caucuses


House Committee on Ways and Means

  • Subcommittee on Health
  • Subcomittee on Trade
  • Subcommittee on Work and Welfare

House Armed Services Committee

  • Subcommittee on Military Personnel

Committee on House Administration

  • Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Elections


Congressional Black Caucus, Voting Rights Task Force Chair

Since its establishment in 1971, the Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) has been committed to using the full Constitutional power, statutory authority, and financial resources of the federal government to ensure that African Americans and other marginalized communities in the United States have the opportunity to achieve the American Dream. The Caucus is Chaired by Congresswoman Joyce Beatty. As part of this commitment, the CBC has fought for the past 48 years to empower these citizens and address their legislative concerns by pursuing a policy agenda that includes but is not limited to the following: 
  • reforming the criminal justice system and eliminating barriers to reentry;
  • combatting voter suppression;
  • expanding access to world-class education from pre-k through post-secondary level;
  • expanding access to quality, affordable health care and eliminating racial health disparities;
  • expanding access to 21st century technologies, including broadband;
  • strengthening protections for workers and expanding access to full, fairly-compensated employment;
  • expanding access to capital, contracts, and counseling for minority-owned businesses; and
  • promoting U.S. foreign policy initiatives in Africa and other countries that are consistent with the fundamental right of human dignity.
For the 117th Congress, the CBC has a historic 56 members of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, representing more than 82 million Americans, 25.3 percent of the total U.S. population, and more than 17 million African-Americans, 41 percent of the total U.S. African-American population. In addition, the CBC represents almost a fourth of the House Democratic Caucus. 

The CBC is engaged at the highest levels of Congress with members who serve in House leadership. Representative James E. Clyburn (D-SC) serves as the Majority Whip in the House of Representatives, Representative Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY) serves as Chairman of the House Democratic Caucus and Representative Barbara Lee (D-CA) serves as co-chair of the House Democratic Steering and Policy Committee. In addition, five CBC members serve as chairs on full House committees, and 28 CBC members serve as chairs on House subcommittees. 

New Democrat CoalitionHealth Care Task Force Co-Chair

As the largest Democratic caucus in the House of Representatives, the New Democrat Coalition is made up of 99 forward-thinking Democrats who are committed to pro-economic growth, pro-innovation, and fiscally responsible policies. New Democrats are a solutions oriented coalition seeking to bridge the gap between left and right by challenging outmoded partisan approaches to governing. New Democrats believe the challenges ahead are too great for Members of Congress to refuse to cooperate purely out of partisanship.  

Congressional Voting Rights Caucus, Co-Chair

The goal of the Congressional Voting Rights Caucus is to educate the public on the current voter suppression tactics in place in their home states, districts, and counties, inform constituencies on their rights as voters, and to create and advance legislation that blocks current and future suppressive and discriminatory tactics that deny American citizens the sacred right to vote.

Congresswoman Sewell's Caucus Memberships

  • Congressional Army Caucus
  • Congressional Arts Caucus
  • Congressional Automotive Caucus
  • Congressional Black Caucus
  • Congressional Caucus on Black Women and Girls
  • Congressional Caucus on Foster Youth 
  • Congressional Caucus on Korea
  • Congressional Cement Caucus 
  • Congressional Cybersecurity Caucus
  • Congressional Diabetes Caucus
  • Congressional HBCU Caucus
  • Congressional House Manufacturing Caucus
  • Congressional Kurdish-American Caucus
  • Congressional Municipal Finance Caucus
  • Congressional Out of Poverty Caucus
  • Congressional Peanut Caucus
  • Congressional Rural Caucus
  • Congressional Rural Healthcare Coalition 
  • Congressional Rural Veterans Caucus
  • Congressional STEAM Caucus
  • Congressional Steel Caucus
  • Congressional TRIO Caucus
  • Financial and Economic Literacy Caucus
  • House Rural Education Caucus
  • Special Operations Forces (SOF) Caucus
  • State Medicaid Expansion Caucus (SMEC)