Congresswoman Terri Sewell

Representing the 7th District of Alabama

Rep. Sewell Named Vice Chair of the Bipartisan Congressional HBCU Caucus

Apr 29, 2015
Press Release

Washington, D.C. -- Congresswoman Terri Sewell issued the following statement after being named the Vice Chair of the Bipartisan Congressional Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) Caucus:

“Historically Black Colleges and Universities created and fostered a generation of African American professionals who would have otherwise been denied an education due to segregation. HBCUs still play a vital role in educating our youth, and the primary purpose of the Bipartisan Congressional HBCU Caucus is to help these storied institutions continue to flourish,” said Rep. Sewell. “My district is home to some of the most prominent HBCUs in the country, and I am proud to join the Bipartisan Congressional HBCU Caucus as Vice Chair.”

The Bipartisan HBCU Caucus will promote and protect the interests of HBCUs by creating a national dialogue, educating Members of Congress and their staffs about the issues impacting HBCUs, drafting meaningful bipartisan legislation to address the needs of HBCUs, and supporting students and graduates of HBCUs by increasing access and career opportunities.

The Bipartisan Congressional HBCU Caucus is chaired by Congresswoman Alma Adams (NC-12) and Congressman Bradley Byrne (AL-1). Congresswoman Sewell and Congressman Bennie Thompson (MS-2) are the Vice Chairs of the Caucus.

Current Caucus members include: Reps. Alma Adams (D-NC), Bradley Byrne (R-AL), Bennie Thompson (D-MS), Terri Sewell (D-AL), Steny Hoyer (D-MD), Jim Clyburn (D-SC), Cedric Richmond (D-LA), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), G.K. Butterfield (D-NC), Shelia Jackson Lee (D-TX), Elijah Cummings (D-MD), David Price (D-NC), Mark Walker (R-NC), Frederica Wilson (D-FL), Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX), Mo Brooks (R-AL), John Lewis (D-GA), Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO), Bob Goodlatte (R-VA), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Randy Forbes (R-VA), Brenda Lawrence (D-MI), Sanford Bishop (D-GA), Stacey Plaskett (D-VI), Hank Johnson (D-GA), Chaka Fattah (D-PA), Bobby Scott (D-VA), Alcee Hastings (D-FL), Steve Cohen (D-TN), Corrine Brown (D-FL), Marcia Fudge (D-OH), Gwen Graham (D-FL), Lacy Clay (D-MO) Joseph Crowley (D-NY), Jared Polis (D-CO), Mark Veasey (D-TX), Richard Hudson (R-NC), John Conyers (D-MI), Bruce Westerman (R-AK) and Walter Jones (R-NC).