Press Releases

Washington, D.C.— Today, Congresswoman Terri A. Sewell (D-AL) released the following statement in response to the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) addition of Perry County to last week’s Emergency Disaster Declaration issued by President Obama for the State of Alabama on February 1, 2012.

“I am very pleased that Perry County has been added to the emergency disaster declaration issued for the State of Alabama last week.  This addition will make federal assistance available for residents of Perry County to help them rebuild and recover in the wake of this disaster. 

This federal funding will provide victims of the storms with access to grants to meet their immediate needs such as temporary housing, financing for home repairs not covered by insurance, low-cost loans for uninsured property losses and other programs.

Many of my constituents in the 7th Congressional District of Alabama who have been affected by these storms and tornadoes may be wondering how and when their lives will return to normal. I want the victims of the tornadoes to know that we are here for you. It’s going to be important for us to make sure that we are sustaining our efforts at rebuilding in the months ahead. Rest assured that my office will continue to work with federal, state and local officials to ensure that we are doing all we can to assist the victims in the coming days and months. In these difficult times, I know that the resilient spirit of our communities will see us through. I am confident that we will recover, restore and rebuild our communities stronger than before.”

The original disaster declaration extended federal assistance to residents of Jefferson and Chilton counties. 


Contact:   Allison Abney;  (202) 225-2665;