Congresswoman Terri Sewell

Representing the 7th District of Alabama

Rep. Sewell Introduces Bipartisan Caribbean Trade Bill

Sep 27, 2017
Press Release
Legislation extends the U.S. Caribbean Basin Trade Partnership Act through 2030

WASHINGTON, D.C. – On Wednesday, Congresswoman Terri Sewell (D-AL) joined Republican Congressman Carlos Curbelo (R-FL) to introduce the Caribbean Basin Economic Recovery Act (H.R. 3849) to reauthorize the U.S. Caribbean Basin Trade Partnership Act (CBTPA) until 2030. Since 2000, CBTPA has allowed for the duty- and quota-free import of goods from Caribbean countries made with U.S. yarns, fabrics, and threads.

“This bipartisan legislation to promote U.S. trade with Caribbean island countries is needed as many islands begin to recover from the devastation of recent hurricanes,” said Rep. Terri Sewell. “Economic growth in Alabama is one of my top priorities, and this bill represents a great opportunity to expand my home state’s trade with Caribbean basin countries. Reauthorizing CBTPA until 2030 and improving trade with countries like Haiti encourages future investment, promotes job creation, and lays the foundation for economic development for decades to come. Since coming to Congress, I’ve worked to build a stronger, more competitive U.S. economy and today’s bill takes a big step towards that goal.”

Background information on the Caribbean Basin Economic Recovery Act:

The Caribbean Basin Economic Recovery Act (H.R. 3849) would reauthorize the U.S. Caribbean Basin Trade Partnership Act (CBTPA) until 2030, giving duty and quota-free access to apparel products manufactured in certain Caribbean countries.  In return, CBTPA requires that Caribbean Basin countries use U.S. formed yarns, fabrics, and thread.  Eligible CBTPA countries include Barbados, Belize, Curacao, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St. Lucia, and Trinidad and Tobago.

CBTPA works in conjunction with the Caribbean Basin Economic Recovery Act (CBERA) to facilitate the development of 17 independent countries of the Caribbean Basin region.  For these two preferential trade programs to be effective, both CBTPA and CBERA must be authorized. Eligible CBERA countries include Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, the British Virgin Islands, Curacao, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago.

Rep. Terri A. Sewell (D-AL) is serving her fourth term representing Alabama’s 7th Congressional district. She sits on the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence and was recently appointed to the powerful House Ways and Means Committee. Sewell is a Chief Deputy Whip and serves on the prestigious Steering and Policy Committee of the Democratic Caucus. She is also a member of the Congressional Black Caucus, and serves as Vice Chair of the Congressional Voting Rights Caucus, and Vice Chair of Outreach for the New Democrat Coalition.