Congresswoman Terri Sewell

Representing the 7th District of Alabama

Rep. Sewell Selected as Chief Deputy Whip for the 116th Congress

Dec 20, 2018
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – House Majority Whip-Elect James E. Clyburn has announced the Chief Deputy Whips selected for the 116th Congress. Congresswoman Terri A. Sewell (D-AL), who has served as a Chief Deputy Whip since she was appointed in the 113th Congress in 2013, was selected again to serve in the 116th Congress.

“I am proud to accept the honor of serving as one of Democratic Whip James Clyburn’s Chief Deputy Whips for the 116th Congress,” said Rep. Terri Sewell. “I am thrilled to work side-by-side with our Democratic leadership team supporting an agenda focused on good-paying jobs, access to affordable health care, infrastructure investments, and democracy reforms. Working to advance these priorities with our Democratic leadership team and with my colleagues on the Steering and Policy Committee, I believe we can make a real difference for working families in Alabama and across the country in the new year.”

Rep. Clyburn announced ten total representatives who will serve as Chief Deputy Whips in the 116th Congress, including:  Rep. John Lewis (GA-05) and Rep. Jan Schakowsky (IL-09), who will serve as Senior Chief Deputy Whips, and Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23), Rep. G.K. Butterfield (NC-01), Rep. Peter Welch (VT-AL), Rep. Terri Sewell (AL-07), Rep. Shelia Jackson Lee  (TX-18), Rep. Dan Kildee (MI-05), Rep. Pete Aguilar (CA-31), and Rep. Henry Cuellar (TX-28) as Chief Deputy Whips.


Rep. Terri A. Sewell (D-AL) is serving her fourth term representing Alabama’s 7th Congressional district. She sits on the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence and was recently appointed to the powerful House Ways and Means Committee. Sewell is a Chief Deputy Whip and serves on the prestigious Steering and Policy Committee of the Democratic Caucus. She is also a member of the Congressional Black Caucus, and serves as Vice Chair of the Congressional Voting Rights Caucus, and Vice Chair of Outreach for the New Democrat Coalition.