Congresswoman Terri Sewell

Representing the 7th District of Alabama

Rep. Sewell Urges Speaker Ryan to Take Action to Protect U.S. Elections from Cyber Attacks

Dec 19, 2017
Press Release
Alabama among 21 states targeted by Russian hackers during 2016 election

WASHINGTON, D.C. – On Tuesday, Congresswoman Terri A. Sewell (D-AL) along with Members of Congress from 18 of the 21 states targeted by Russian hackers in 2016, called on House Speaker Paul Ryan to take immediate action to protect state voting systems from cyberattacks and to bolster state election infrastructure.

Read the full letter to Speaker Ryan urging immediate action to protect state voting systems

“Growing cybersecurity threats from Russia and other foreign nations pose serious risks to the integrity of our elections,” said Rep. Terri Sewell. “As a Member of the House Intelligence Committee, I have heard first hand from intelligence officials who warn that unless we develop measures to defend our elections against cyberattacks, our election infrastructure will remain vulnerable. Here in Congress, we have a responsibility to defend our democracy by strengthening cybersecurity in our elections. Cybersecurity is a matter of national security that we cannot afford to ignore.”

In the letter, the Members asked Speaker Ryan to request a briefing from the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) about Russian cyberattacks on state election systems in 2016. The letter also urged Speaker Ryan to direct all relevant House committees to investigate the attacks and to support bipartisan legislation to strengthen the security of state election systems around the country.



Rep. Terri A. Sewell (D-AL) is serving her fourth term representing Alabama’s 7th Congressional district. She sits on the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence and was recently appointed to the powerful House Ways and Means Committee. Sewell is a Chief Deputy Whip and serves on the prestigious Steering and Policy Committee of the Democratic Caucus. She is also a member of the Congressional Black Caucus, and serves as Vice Chair of the Congressional Voting Rights Caucus, and Vice Chair of Outreach for the New Democrat Coalition.