Press Releases

Washington, D.C. – Today, U.S. Rep. Terri Sewell (AL-07) celebrated the recognition of Hall-Kent Elementary School and MacMillan International Academy as Blue Ribbon Schools by the United States Department of Education. The two schools are among 325 public and private schools across the country recognized for their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student groups.

“Congratulations to Hall-Kent Elementary School and MacMillan International Academy on this outstanding achievement!” said Rep. Sewell. “This award is a testament to the hard work of so many teachers, administrators, staff, and students alike who have demonstrated exemplary teaching and learning in the face of unprecedented challenges.” 

The following two schools were recognized as 2021 National Blue Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education:

  • Hall-Kent Elementary School
    • 213 Hall Ave, Birmingham, AL, 35209
    • Principal: Mrs. Kiana Billings Coleman
  • MacMillan International Academy
    • 4015 McInnis Dr, Montgomery, AL, 36116
    • Principal: Mrs. Faith Goshay

“Hall-Kent's recognition as a National Blue Ribbon School is a huge honor for our faculty and staff, students, parents, and school community,” said Kiana Billings Coleman, Principal of Hall-Kent Elementary School. “This award represents the tremendous work our teachers and staff pour into their students every day. This award would not have been possible without the support of our parents, local school board, and community partners.”

“MacMillan is beyond excited to receive this national recognition!” said Faith Terry Goshay, Principal of MacMillan International Academy. “MacMillan's faculty and staff work diligently day in and day out to provide the very best teaching and learning opportunities for our students.  We would also like to thank all of our stakeholders for assisting by providing various resources to support the learning experiences that aided in us receiving this prestigious award.”

Throughout its 39 year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has affirmed the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content. The award flag gracing a school’s building has been widely recognized by everyone – from parents to policymakers – as a symbol of exemplary teaching and learning.  To date, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed more than 10,000 awards to over 9,000 schools, with some schools winning multiple awards. This year’s awardees will be eligible again for nomination in five years.

The 2021 cohort of National Blue Ribbon Schools will be formally recognized at an awards ceremony on November 4th and November 5th in Washington, DC.  At the ceremony, each school will be presented with an award plaque and a flag as symbols of their accomplishments.

Summaries and photographs of all 2021 National Blue Ribbon Schools can be accessed on the U.S. Department of Education’s website at