Press Releases

Washington, DC- Today, House Majority Whip James E. Clyburn announced the selection of Rep. Terri A. Sewell (D-AL) as a Chief Deputy Whip for the 117th Congress. Rep. Sewell has served as a Chief Deputy Whip since she was appointed in the 113th Congress in 2013.

“I proudly accept the honor of serving as a Chief Deputy Whip under the leadership of Democratic Whip James Clyburn’s for the 117th Congress,” said Rep. Terri Sewell. “I am thrilled to continue working with this dynamic team and Democratic Leadership in the House to advance an agenda focused on providing for the lives and livelihoods of the American people during this unprecedented time in our nation’s history. As this public health crisis continues to disparage rural and underserved communities in Alabama across this country, I am confident we have the leadership necessary to meet the challenges for the American people that include crushing this virus, strengthening our economy, improving our nation’s infrastructure, and putting Alabamians back to work.”

“I am pleased that Terri will continue serving as Chief Deputy Whip in the 117th Congress,” said Democratic Whip Jim Clyburn. Terri’s experience and work ethic will continue to serve the Whip team well as we face historic challenges and opportunities next year. I look forward to working with her in collaboration with the incoming administration to advance our legislative priorities.”

Rep. Clyburn announced ten total representatives who will serve as Chief Deputy Whips in the 116th Congress, including: Rep. G.K. Butterfield (NC-01) and Rep. Jan Schakowsky (IL-09), who will serve as Senior Chief Deputy Whips, and Rep. Henry Cuellar (TX-28), Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18), Rep. Dan Kildee (MI-05), Rep. Stephanie Murphy (FL-07), Rep. Jimmy Panetta (CA-20), Rep. Terri Sewell (AL-07),Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23),and Rep. Peter Welch (VT-AL) as Chief Deputy Whips.