Press Releases

Washington, DC- Today, Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi named U.S. Rep. Terri Sewell (AL-07) to serve on a conference committee of the House and Senate versions of the FY 2021 National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA). NDAA conferees from the House and Senate will work together to resolve differences between the distinct defense authorization bills passed by each chamber in June 2020. This will be the second year that Rep. Sewell has been selected as an NDAA conferee.

The NDAA authorizes funding to equip, supply and train U.S. troops and support military families. The bill has been passed by Congress for 58 continuous years. Sewell, a senior Member of the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence and Chair of the Subcommittee on Defense Intelligence and Warfighter Support, is committed to continuing this bipartisan tradition of passing a smart defense bill that provides servicemembers with the resources they need to address and counter today’s increasingly complex national security challenges. As an FY2020 NDAA Conferee, Rep. Sewell was successful in securing language to improve federal campaign election security, increase intelligence funding, and promote increased diversity in the Intelligence Community’s workforce. She also worked closely with Senator Doug Jones to successfully repeal the Military Widow’s Tax, which unfairly taxed military widows and widowers’ survivor benefits.  

“The House and Senate have historically put politics aside on behalf of the American people to pass the NDAA. This critically important legislation authorizes our national defense priorities for the year and provides our brave men and women with the resources needed to carry out their missions across the world,” Sewell said. “I am committed to continuing this tradition and working to exclude any partisan provisions that threaten the defense and wellbeing of our nation. As a Representative from a state that plays such a major part in our national security, I am honored to be able to play such a significant role as a conferee for the second consecutive year.”

 The House Democratic Conferees to the conference committee are:

House Committee on Armed Services

  • Congressman Adam Smith of Washington, Chair 
  • Congresswoman Susan Davis of California 
  • Congressman James Langevin of Rhode Island 
  • Congressman Rick Larsen of Washington
  • Congressman Jim Cooper of Tennessee     
  • Congressman Joe Courtney of Connecticut
  • Congressman John Garamendi of California
  • Congresswoman Jackie Speier of California
  • Congressman Donald Norcross of New Jersey 
  • Congressman Ruben Gallego of Arizona 
  • Congressman Seth Moulton of Massachusetts 
  • Congressman Salud Carbajal of California 
  • Congressman Anthony Brown of Maryland
  • Congressman Ro Khanna of California
  • Congressman Bill Keating of Massachusetts
  • Congressman Filemon Vela of Texas
  • Congressman Andy Kim of New Jersey 
  • Congresswoman Kendra Horn of Oklahoma
  • Congressman Gil Cisneros of California 

House Committee on Agriculture

  • Congressman Collin Peterson of Minnesota 
  • Congresswoman Abigail Spanberger of Virginia 

House Committee on Budget 

  • Congressman Joseph Morelle of New York
  • Congressman Steven Horsford of Nevada 

House Committee on Education and Labor

  • Congressman Bobby Scott of Virginia 
  • Congresswoman Lori Trahan of Massachusetts 

House Committee on Energy and Commerce

  • Congressman Frank Pallone of New Jersey
  • Congresswoman Diana DeGette of Colorado 

House Committee on Financial Services

  • Congresswoman Maxine Waters of California, Chair
  • Congressman Juan Vargas of California

House Committee on Foreign Affairs

  • Congressman Eliot Engel of New York, Chair
  • Congressman Brad Sherman of California 

House Committee on Homeland Security

  • Congresswoman Xochitl Torres Small of New Mexico
  • Congresswoman Elissa Slotkin of Michigan 

House Committee on Administration 

  • Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren of California 
  • Congresswoman Marcia Fudge of Ohio 

House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence

  • Congressman Adam Schiff of California, Chair
  • Congresswoman Terri Sewell of Alabama 

House Committee on Judiciary

  • Congressman Jerrold Nadler of New York, Chair
  • Congresswoman Debbie Mucarsel-Powell of Florida 

House Committee on Natural Resources

  • Congressman Raúl Grijalva of Arizona, Chair
  • Congresswoman Deb Haaland of New Mexico

House Committee on Oversight and Reform

  • Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney of New York, Chair
  • Congressman Stephen Lynch of Massachusetts 

House Committee on Science, Space and Technology

  • Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas, Chair
  • Congressman Mikie Sherrill of New Jersey

House Committee on Small Business

  • Congresswoman Nydia Velázquez of New York, Chair
  • Congressman Jared Golden of Maine

House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure

  • Congressman Jared Huffman of California 
  • Congressman Harley Rouda of California 

House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs

  • Congressman Mark Takano of California, Chair
  • Congressman Conor Lamb of Pennsylvania 

House Committee on Ways and Means 

  • Congressman Richard Neal of Massachusetts, Chair
  • Congressman Jimmy Panetta of California